California’s Women’s champions

Four women from California were part of NCAA championship teams this past weekend – defenseman Olivia Jakiel of Santa Clarita and forward Kelly Nash of Bonita with the Wisconsin Badgers, and forward Courtney Hanlon of Fullerton and goaltender Caroline Hu of Cerritos for Division III Amherst.

Hanlon scored in the D3 final and led Amherst in points this season. Elmira, which lost in the final to Amherst, got big contributions from forward Jamie Huntley of La Jolla this season.

No matter how much research I do for the hockey book and for California Rubber and its Web site, I never cease to be amazed at the reach of California in the hockey world.

We know much about the top men’s players from here thanks to the NHL, AHL, WHL and NCAA, but to have this many women not just on rosters but playing key roles for National Champions impresses me.


California hockey alumni

Many more California alumni updates can be found on

This week I take a look at college players whose teams are still alive in the NCAA women’s tournaments and the men’s conference tournaments.

Six women are playing in this weekend’s Division I and III Frozen Fours. They are Minnesota-Duluth’s Jaime Rassmussen (Garden Grove), Wisconsin’s Olivia Jakiel (Santa Clarita) and Kelly Nash (Bonita), Amherst’s Caroline Hu (Cerritos) and Courtney Hanlon (Fullerton) and Elmira’s Jamie Huntley (La Jolla).

A few more college commitments, too. Defenseman Loren Barron of Glendora and the USHL’s Indiana Ice will play at Quinnipiac, and forward Dan Radke of Orinda and the NAHL’s Traverse City North Stars has tendered to Lake Superior State.

California alumni report for Jan. 29

This week’s alumni report on California hockey players making waves in the college, junior and professional ranks has been posted at or click here

Among the highlights:

Several women’s goalies had standout weeks in NCAA games, including Amy Zappen, Caroline Hu and Jenny Niesluchowski.

A handful of California products leading their teams in scoring also are noted, including MIT’s Kameron Klauber, Robert Morris’ Chris Margott and UMass-Boston’s Kris Kranzy.